Les deux types de liaisons - physique et chimique

Lorsqu'un adhésif forme des liens, il ne suffit pas qu'il colle deux matériaux ensemble. En fonction des matériaux à coller, l'adhésif formera des liens en utilisant une combinaison de deux mécanismes différents : la liaison physique et la liaison chimique. Bien que ces deux mécanismes soient importants, ils fonctionnent de manière différente, chacun ayant ses propres forces et limites.

Qu'est-ce que la liaison physique ?

Le collage physique fait référence à l'ancrage de l'adhésif sur les substrats et à la formation d'une liaison plus physique, d'où son nom. Les liaisons physiques se forment lorsque de l'adhésif fondu est appliqué sur un substrat et s'écoule dans les espaces ouverts de la surface. L'adhésif se refroidit ensuite et durcit, formant un lien entre les substrats. Cette forme de collage est le mécanisme de collage prédominant sur les substrats poreux tels que le bois non traité, le tissu, le carton, etc.

Les éléments qui peuvent affecter la force d'une liaison physique comprennent l'adhésif Viskosität, Offene zeit, ainsi que la longueur et la force de la compression du substrat. Les adhésifs à faible teneur en Viskosität (tels que tecbond 5) ont un débit plus élevé, ce qui leur permet de s'étaler davantage et de pénétrer dans les petits espaces de la surface du substrat, renforçant ainsi encore davantage le lien.

L'intensité de la compression appliquée aux substrats déterminera jusqu'où l'adhésif s'écoulera dans les espaces ouverts. Les adhésifs à forte teneur en Viskosität peuvent ne pas s'écouler correctement dans le substrat lors de l'application initiale, mais sous l'effet de la compression, ils sont forcés de pénétrer dans les espaces libres de la surface, formant ainsi une liaison physique solide une fois qu'ils ont durci.

Pour les adhésifs à faible vitesse de prise, la durée de la compression affecte également la force d'adhérence, car plus les substrats sont maintenus ensemble, plus l'adhésif est forcé de pénétrer dans les espaces ouverts alors qu'il est encore en fusion.

Sur le site Offene zeit, les formulations d'adhésifs ayant un temps ouvert moyen à long ont plus de temps pour s'écouler dans et sur le substrat, remplissant ainsi plus d'espaces dans la surface avant de durcir.

Qu'est-ce que la liaison chimique ?

La liaison chimique dans les adhésifs thermofusibles implique la formation d'interactions polaires ou non polaires entre les molécules de l'adhésif et le substrat. En d'autres termes, l'adhésif exerce une certaine forme d'"attraction" sur les deux substrats.

L'eau et l'huile constituent un exemple d'interaction polaire et non polaire. L'eau est un composé polaire et l'huile est un composé non polaire, ce qui signifie qu'ils ne sont pas chimiquement compatibles et se séparent donc lorsqu'ils entrent en contact l'un avec l'autre.

Les formulations d'adhésifs thermofusibles fonctionnent en reflétant chimiquement les substrats auxquels elles tentent d'adhérer (les substrats polaires nécessitent un adhésif polaire pour former une liaison, les substrats non polaires nécessitant un adhésif non polaire). Au sens le plus élémentaire, la compatibilité chimique crée des interactions moléculaires entre l'adhésif et le substrat, ce qui aboutit à une liaison chimique.

Le collage chimique est une nécessité pour les substrats lisses et non poreux ou pour les substrats dont les zones poreuses ont déjà été remplies par une autre substance. Par exemple, le polypropylène est extrêmement difficile à coller car sa composition chimique est difficile à reproduire, tandis que les matériaux vernis aux UV ou imprimés ont été recouverts de laque ou d'encre, qui ont déjà comblé toutes les lacunes du matériau.

Les molécules d'adhésif thermofusible ont besoin d'énergie pour former leurs liaisons. Elles obtiennent cette énergie sous forme de chaleur. C'est pourquoi plus la température d'application est élevée, plus les molécules disposent d'énergie pour former efficacement des liaisons. L'augmentation de la quantité d'adhésif appliquée sur le substrat augmentera à son tour le nombre de molécules disponibles pour la liaison.

Quelle que soit la méthode de collage requise pour le substrat en question, un adhésif essaiera toujours de former une liaison à la fois physique et chimique. Certaines des liaisons les plus solides sont obtenues lorsque l'adhésif réalise un mélange de liaisons physiques et chimiques.

Pour plus d'informations sur la gamme d'adhésifs tecbond, veuillez vous adresser à notre équipe de vente spécialisée, qui pourra vous guider vers les adhésifs et les applicateurs adaptés à votre tâche.

sales@poweradhesives.com

+44 (0)1268 885801

Marqué comme

Laisser une réponse

Votre adresse électronique ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont marqués d'un *.

Ce site est protégé par reCAPTCHA et les règles de confidentialité et les conditions d' utilisation de Google s'appliquent.

loading="lazy"

Power Adhesives welcome Kenyon as first Premium Partner

At the start of 2024, we launched a new Premium Partnership scheme to reward our top distributors for their dedication to stocking and selling Power Adhesives products. In May, we officially welcomed Kenyon Group to this scheme. Kenyon Group, a UK-based distribution partner, have pioneered Tec and Tecbond products for over 20 years. Along with […]
loading="lazy"

Power Adhesives Brand Refresh

Coming Q3 this year, we will be unveiling an update to the Power Adhesives brand. We’ve developed a fresh new look that will help us to not only stand out from other companies, but to simplify and rationalise our brand image and portfolio too. You may have seen a recent email from us where we […]
loading="lazy"

The New Look Sales Support Team

From promotions to job roles changes, along with some new staff, it’s safe to say our sales support team have had a busy 2024 so far. With the increase in customer support requirements, we’ve made some changes to our current team to improve workflow, and provide a more personalised customer service experiences for our distribution […]

Devenir un distributeur de Power Adhesives

Power Adhesives se consacre à l'amélioration des performances et de l'application des systèmes d'adhésifs thermofusibles pour les utilisateurs du monde entier.

Nous sommes toujours à la recherche de sociétés de distribution motivées et compétentes avec lesquelles nous pouvons établir des partenariats durables. Si vous pensez que vos clients pourraient bénéficier de l'un des produits de notre gamme, contactez-nous dès maintenant pour en savoir plus sur la façon dont nous pouvons travailler ensemble.

loading="lazy"

The two types of bonding – Physical and chemical

When forming bonds with adhesive, it is not as straightforward as the adhesive just sticking two materials together. Depending on the materials being bonded, the adhesive will form bonds using a combination of two different mechanisms: physical bonding and chemical bonding. While both are important, these bonds operate in different ways, each with its own unique strengths and limitations.

What is physical bonding?

Physical bonding refers to adhesive anchoring itself to substrates and forming a more physical bond, hence the name. Physical bonds form when molten adhesive is applied to a substrate and flows into the open spaces on the surface. The adhesive then cools and hardens, forming a link between the substrates. This form of bonding is the predominant bonding mechanism on porous substrates such as untreated wood, fabric, cardboard, etc.

Elements that can affect the strength of a physical bond include adhesive viscosity, open time, and the length and strength of substrate compression. Lower viscosity adhesives (such as tecbond 5) have an increased flow rate, allowing them to spread further and penetrate into the smaller spaces on the surface of the substrate, strengthening the bond even more.

The amount of compression applied to the substrates will determine how far into the open spaces the adhesive will flow. Higher viscosity adhesives may not adequately flow into the substrate when initially applied, but upon compression, they are forced into these surface gaps, forming a strong physical bond once it sets.

For adhesives with lower setting speeds, the length of compression will also affect bond strength, as the longer the substrates are held together, the longer the adhesive is forced into open spaces while it is still molten.

When it comes to open time, adhesive formulations with medium to long open times have more time to flow into and across the substrate, filling more gaps in the surface before setting.

What is chemical bonding?

Chemical bonding in hot melt adhesives involves the formation of polar or non-polar interactions between the adhesive molecules in the substrate. In other words, the adhesive will have some form of “attraction” to both substrates.

An example of a polar and non-polar interaction is water and oil. Water is a polar compound, and oil is a non-polar compound, meaning they do not chemically match and therefore separate when they come into contact with each other.

Hot melt adhesive formulations work by chemically mirroring the substrates to which they are trying to bond (polar substrates require a polar adhesive to form a bond, with non-polar substrates requiring a non-polar adhesive). In a very basic sense, the chemical compatibility forms molecular interactions between the adhesive and the substrate, resulting in chemical bonding.

Chemical bonding is a necessity on smooth, non-porous substrates or substrates that have already had their porous areas filled with another substance. For example, polypropylene is extremely tough to bond as its chemical makeup is difficult to match, while UV-varnished or printed materials have been covered in lacquer or ink, which have already filled any gaps on the material.

Hot melt adhesive molecules require energy to form their bonds. They get this energy in the form of heat. For this reason, the higher the application temperature, the more energy the molecules have to efficiently form bonds. Increasing the amount of adhesive applied to the substrate will in turn increase the number of molecules available for bonding.

No matter what bonding method is required for the substrate in question, an adhesive will always try to form both a physical and chemical bond. Some of the strongest bonds occur when the adhesive performs a mixture of both physical and chemical bonding.

For more information about the tecbond adhesive range, please speak to our dedicated sales team, who can guide you to the right adhesives and applicators for your task.

sales@poweradhesives.com

+44 (0)1268 885801

Tagged as

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Tecbond 214B – The first fully-certified biodegradable hot melt

For the past few years, Power Adhesives has been developing a new adhesive formulation that we believe we be the catalyst in reducing the environmental impact of hot melt adhesives. With the debate around packaging waste at an all-time high, the task was to create a hot melt adhesive that was kinder to the environment […]

Demystifying Hot Melt Adhesives: A Comprehensive Guide

Contrary to what many believe, hot melt adhesives and hot melt technology have progressed far beyond the crafting and DIY industries. For new or inexperienced users of hot melts, it can be confusing trying to work out all the variables involved, and how to get the best from these adhesives. In this blog, we’ll explore […]

Colours, Kits and Bags

Outside of the bigger tool announcements this quarter, we’ve made other changes to popular products in our portfolio. We started by upgrading our old plastic carry cases to a new, more sustainable fabric bag. Not only do they reduce the amount of plastic within our product range, but these new bags have fully customisable inserts […]

Become a distributor for Power Adhesives

Power Adhesives is dedicated to improving the performance and application of hot melt adhesive systems for users around the world.

We’re always on the lookout for motivated, knowledgeable distribution companies that we can build long-lasting partnerships with. If you think your customers could benefit from any of the products in our range, get in touch now to find out more about how we can work together.