Quels sont les éléments à prendre en compte lors du choix de la qualité de l'adhésif thermofusible ?

La technologie des adhésifs thermofusibles progressant constamment et offrant de nouvelles solutions pour toute une série d'applications, les nouveaux utilisateurs doivent comprendre ce qu'ils recherchent dans leur adhésif. Il est important de comprendre comment les différents facteurs du processus de collage affecteront la qualité de l'adhésif thermofusible dont vous avez besoin. Nous détaillons ci-dessous quelques-uns des éléments les plus importants à prendre en compte lors du choix de votre grade d'adhésif thermofusible.

Matériaux à coller

C'est le facteur le plus explicite, mais aussi l'un des plus importants à prendre en compte. Les thermofusibles fondent, refroidissent et se solidifient pour former une liaison entre les substrats. Ce processus fait appel à la fois à la liaison chimique et à la liaison physique. Il est donc important de comprendre quelle méthode de liaison vos substrats requièrent.

Les matériaux tels que le bois non traité, le carton, le papier et les tissus bénéficieront d'un adhésif ayant de meilleures propriétés de liaison physique en raison de leur porosité, tandis que les matériaux à faible énergie de surface tels que les plastiques polyoléfines ou le verre bénéficieront d'un adhésif ayant de meilleures propriétés de liaison chimique. Pour en savoir plus sur les liaisons chimiques et physiques, consultez notre blog, qui explique la différence entre les deux.

La gamme d'adhésifs thermofusibles Tecbond offre des solutions polyvalentes, avec différents grades capables de coller presque tous les matériaux, offrant aux acheteurs une option fiable et adaptable pour leurs besoins en adhésifs.

Temps de travail et Offene zeit

Ces deux éléments vont de pair, car le temps de travail aura une incidence sur le site Offene zeit requis pour la qualité de l'adhésif thermofusible. Le temps de travail est le temps nécessaire pour achever l'ensemble du processus de collage des matériaux. Offene zeit est le temps pendant lequel l'adhésif peut encore être manipulé après l'application.

Si le site Offene zeit est plus court que le temps de travail, l'adhésif commencera à durcir avant la compression, perdra son pouvoir adhésif et sera incapable de former une liaison solide. Cela peut conduire à une défaillance de l'adhésif. Il est donc important de trouver un adhésif thermofusible dont le Offene zeit est plus long que votre temps de travail.

Dans l'industrie de l'emballage, les fabricants préfèrent généralement des temps d'ouverture plus courts, car cela signifie qu'ils peuvent très rapidement sécuriser chaque boîte ou carton et passer au suivant sans nécessiter de serrage ou de maintien. En revanche, les applications d'assemblage de produits peuvent préférer un temps d'ouverture plus long ( Offene zeit ) pour positionner avec précision les matériaux avant la compression.

Avant d'acheter un adhésif thermofusible, il est donc important de savoir combien de temps il faut en moyenne pour assembler vos composants après l'application de l'adhésif.

Température de l'environnement de travail

Comme indiqué précédemment, les adhésifs thermofusibles diffèrent des solutions à base d'eau et de solvant par leur méthode de collage. Comme ils doivent durcir, la température de l'environnement dans lequel ils sont utilisés aura une incidence sur leur capacité à durcir correctement.

En règle générale, plus l'environnement est chaud, plus il faut de temps pour que l'adhésif se solidifie complètement, et vice versa. L'utilisation d'un mauvais adhésif thermofusible peut entraîner des collages mous ainsi que des temps d'ouverture et des vitesses de prise plus longs.

Certains produits thermofusibles sont conçus pour des conditions plus chaudes, tandis que d'autres sont formulés pour résister à des températures beaucoup plus basses. Dans de nombreux cas, cela affectera leurs températures de prise et leurs points de ramollissement. Cela n'entraîne pas nécessairement une défaillance de l'adhésif ou de la cohésion, mais peut provoquer des mouvements du substrat en raison de la liaison désormais ramollie.

Température d'application

Ce point est étroitement lié aux matériaux à coller. Certains substrats nécessitent une température plus élevée pour former une liaison solide, tandis que d'autres ont besoin d'une température plus basse pour éviter de brûler ou de fondre.

Chaque produit thermofusible a une température d'application recommandée, qui est liée à une performance idéale. L'utilisation de ces produits thermofusibles à une température plus élevée ou plus basse peut entraîner une mauvaise fonctionnalité par rapport à l'usage prévu.

Par exemple, les grades tecbond low melt sont formulés pour fonctionner à 130°C. En les appliquant à des températures de fusion à chaud normales (environ 195°C), on obtiendra une très faible Viskosität et on compromettra leur capacité de collage. Inversement, l'application d'un grade haute température tel que tecbond 7784 à une température plus basse nuira à ses performances, car une chaleur plus élevée permet de disposer de plus d'énergie pour le collage.

Taille de l'adhésif

En ce qui concerne plus spécifiquement la gamme d'adhésifs thermofusibles tecbond, la taille de l'adhésif aura une incidence non seulement sur la formulation que vous pouvez utiliser, mais aussi sur le type d'applicateur dont vous avez besoin.

Les adhésifs Tecbond 43 mm permettent aux utilisateurs d'améliorer leur production d'adhésifs tout en permettant des formulations variées qui ne fonctionneraient pas dans un bâton traditionnel de 12 mm. Les grades 265, 266 et 267 de Tecbond ne sont disponibles qu'en 43 mm, car la composition de leur matière première les rend trop souples dans un format de 12 ou 15 mm.

Pour plus d'informations techniques sur la gamme d'adhésifs tecbond ou pour savoir quel grade tecbond convient le mieux à votre application, veuillez contacter notre équipe de vente.

sales@poweradhesives.com

+44 (0)1268 885 801

Marqué comme

Commentaire

Laisser une réponse

Votre adresse électronique ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont marqués d'un *.

Ce site est protégé par reCAPTCHA et les règles de confidentialité et les conditions d' utilisation de Google s'appliquent.

loading="lazy"

Colours, Kits and Bags

Outside of the bigger tool announcements this quarter, we’ve made other changes to popular products in our portfolio. We started by upgrading our old plastic carry cases to a new, more sustainable fabric bag. Not only do they reduce the amount of plastic within our product range, but these new bags have fully customisable inserts […]
loading="lazy"

From JEC to TMB – A look at 2024 exhibitions so far

Below are a few photos from the shows we’ve been to so far. But that’s not the end of our plans for 2024! We’ll be at some of the upcoming Toolfair shows later in the year, demonstrating our construction adhesives and tools, along with our spray system and Knottec filling adhesive. Outside of Europe, our […]
loading="lazy"

New look products – Same consistent results

In 2023, we decided to review our range of hot melt tools and accessories, exploring ways to cement them as the premium choice for our users. Since the start of the year, we’ve released our most advanced 12mm and 15mm tool, the Tec 830, as well as the new standard 43mm applicator, the Tec 3500. […]

Devenir un distributeur de Power Adhesives

Power Adhesives se consacre à l'amélioration des performances et de l'application des systèmes d'adhésifs thermofusibles pour les utilisateurs du monde entier.

Nous sommes toujours à la recherche de sociétés de distribution motivées et compétentes avec lesquelles nous pouvons établir des partenariats durables. Si vous pensez que vos clients pourraient bénéficier de l'un des produits de notre gamme, contactez-nous dès maintenant pour en savoir plus sur la façon dont nous pouvons travailler ensemble.

loading="lazy"

What to consider when choosing your hot melt adhesive grade

With hot melt adhesive technology constantly advancing and offering new solutions to a range of applications, new users need to understand what they’re looking for in their adhesive. It’s important to understand how different factors in the bonding process will affect the grade of hot melt you need. Below, we will detail some of the most important things to consider when choosing your hot melt adhesive grade.

Materials being bonded

This one is the most self-explanatory but also one of the most important factors to consider. Hot melts work by melting and then cooling, eventually solidifying to form a bond between substrates. This process uses both chemical and physical bonding, so it’s important to understand what bonding method your substrates require.

Materials like untreated wood, cardboard, paper, and fabrics will benefit from an adhesive with better physical bonding properties due to their porosity, whereas low-surface-energy materials like polyolefin plastics or glass will benefit from an adhesive with better chemical bonding properties. You can read more about chemical and physical bonding in our blog, explaining the difference between the two.

Tecbond’s hot melt adhesive range offers versatile solutions, with different grades capable of bonding almost any material, providing buyers with a reliable and adaptable option for their adhesive needs.

Working time and open time

These two go hand-in-hand, as working time will affect the open time required for the hot melt grade. Working time is the time it takes to complete the entire process of bonding materials together. Open time is the amount of time after application that the adhesive can still be manipulated.

If an adhesive’s open time is shorter than the working time, it will begin setting before compression, losing its tack and being unable to form a strong bond. This can then lead to adhesive failure. It is therefore important to find a hot melt adhesive with an open time longer than your working time.

In the packaging industry, manufacturers generally prefer shorter open times, as it means they can very quickly secure each box or carton and move on to the next one without requiring any clamping or holding. In contrast, product assembly applications may prefer a longer open time to accurately position the materials before compression.

So before purchasing a hot melt adhesive, it is important to understand how long it takes on average to bring your components together after the adhesive has been applied.

Temperature of the working environment

As mentioned previously, hot melt adhesives differ from water- and solvent-based solutions in their bonding method. With them needing to set, the temperature of the environment they’re used in will, in turn, affect their ability to set correctly.

The general rule is that the warmer the environment, the longer it will take for the bond to fully solidify, and vice versa. Using an incorrect hot melt adhesive can lead to soft bonds along with longer open times and setting speeds.

Certain hot melt grades will be designed for warmer conditions, while others are formulated to survive much lower temperatures. In many instances, this will affect their setting temperatures and softening points. This may not lead to adhesive or cohesive failure but may result in substrate movements due to the now softened bond.

Application temperature

This point is closely linked to materials being bonded. Specific substrates require a higher temperature to form a strong bond, while others require a lower temperature to avoid burning or melting.

Each hot melt formulation will have a recommended application temperature, which is linked to ideal performance. Running these hot melts at a higher or lower temperature may result in poor functionality in relation to its intended purpose.

For example, tecbond low melt grades are formulated to run at 130°C. Dispensing them at regular hot melt temperatures (around 195°C) will make them very low viscosity and compromise their bonding ability. Conversely, running a high-temperature grade such as tecbond 7784 at a lower temperature will hinder its performance as a higher heat results in more energy being available for bonding.

Adhesive size

More specific to the tecbond range of hot melts, the size of the adhesive will affect not only the formulation you can use but also the type of applicator you need.

Tecbond 43mm adhesives allow users to improve their adhesive output while allowing for varied formulations that wouldn’t work in a traditional 12mm stick. Tecbond grades 265, 266, and 267 are only available in 43mm slugs, as their raw material makeup makes them too soft in a 12 or 15mm stick format.

For more technical information about the tecbond adhesive range or to find out what tecbond grade is most suitable for your application, please contact our sales team.

sales@poweradhesives.com

+44 (0)1268 885 801

Tagged as

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

43mm hot melt adhesives: Why should you use them?

For over 40 years, Power Adhesives has been producing hot melt adhesive formulations in 43mm diameter slugs. But why would you need 43mm slugs? What applications are they most beneficial for? And why should you choose to use 43mm adhesives over the traditional 12mm sticks? Output Looking to increase overall adhesive output? Then opt for […]

What to consider when choosing your hot melt adhesive grade

With hot melt adhesive technology constantly advancing and offering new solutions to a range of applications, new users need to understand what they’re looking for in their adhesive. It’s important to understand how different factors in the bonding process will affect the grade of hot melt you need. Below, we will detail some of the […]

Tecbond 23 – The strong, multi-purpose product assembly adhesive

A staple of the tecbond range and one of the more popular shaped hot melt adhesives on the market, tecbond 23 is designed to offer superior bonding on the most commonly used building materials. Tecbond 23 is an EVA-based, multi-purpose hot melt adhesive that provides excellent bonds on a wide variety of materials, including hard […]

Become a distributor for Power Adhesives

Power Adhesives is dedicated to improving the performance and application of hot melt adhesive systems for users around the world.

We’re always on the lookout for motivated, knowledgeable distribution companies that we can build long-lasting partnerships with. If you think your customers could benefit from any of the products in our range, get in touch now to find out more about how we can work together.